Skip to main content

Orientation Information for New Students

Orientation Leaders

New Student Orientation is your formal introduction to the UC San Diego and Seventh College community. You will learn about life at Seventh College, get to know other new Tritons, interact with College staff, and receive guidance and support from current UC San Diego students. 

Required Steps for New Student Orientation

Step I: Complete COMPASS
Go to mycompass.ucsd.edu to complete your pre-orientation program by July 31, 2020.

Step II: Register for Online Orientation
Go to cor.ucsd.edu  to register for orientation by July 31, 2020.

The online orientation program will consist of readings, videos, and small group sessions (8-11 students per group) conducted via Zoom.  

  • Group sessions will consist of four one-hour meetings with fellow Seventh College students and an Orientation Leader (OL).
  • All group members will have access to session content through Canvas, UC San Diego’s learning management system. 
  • We recommend students have a camera and microphone for participation in group sessions.


Step III: Select Date Series for Online Orientation

Once you have registered for orientation (Step II), you will be able to select the date series for your online orientation group sessions. Please check your UC San Diego email account the week of August 3, 2020 for instructions. Selection will be on a first come, first served basis.

Series 1 Group Session Dates

Sunday, September 20
Wednesday, September 23
Saturday, September 26
Tuesday, September 29

Series 2 Group Session Dates

Monday, September 21
Thursday, September 24
Sunday, September 27
Wednesday, September 30

Series 3 Group Session Dates

Tuesday, September 22
Friday, September 25
Monday, September 28
Saturday, October 3

In order to maximize flexibility and accessibility, you will be able to select the time of your small group sessions, with options ranging from 9:00 am - 8:00 pm, Pacific Daylight Time (UTC-7).  

NOTE: Please keep your series' dates in mind when selecting a move-in date later this summer – we DO NOT recommend scheduling your move-in on the same day as a small group session. If you are a student athlete, please check with your coach prior to selecting your series to avoid conflicts with practice schedules.

Additional Information